Vocalenda logoVocalenda

Buying Guides

Best AI Receptionist UK (2026): 9 Providers Compared, From £10 a Month

Nine AI receptionists compared for UK small businesses, ranked by what each is actually best at: prices re-checked on their own pages in September 2026, what happens on the call, and the one question that separates them - does the call end with the job done, or written down for you to do later?

Radu, Vocalenda founder10 July 2026Updated 25 September 202615 min read
Best AI Receptionist UK (2026): 9 Providers Compared, From £10 a Month

Let's get the disclosure out of the way first: we make one of the products in this list. Vocalenda is ours. You should read everything below knowing that, and we've tried to earn your trust the only way that works, by being specific and fair about the others. Several of them are genuinely good, and for some businesses one of them will be a better fit than us. We say so where it's true.

Updated 21 September 2026. Every published price below was re-checked on each provider's own pages on 21 September 2026, twice. Five things are different from our 15 September edition, and two of those corrections go against us: IONOS names the calendars it books into, on a card its page marks "New feature", and ARROW's pages say it books jobs into the diary. BookedSolid publishes a £49 price for a single practitioner, Team-Connect's £9.99 plan turns out to be a landline with no AI answering on it, and the Standard tier on The VoIP Shop's main price table reads £0.85 a minute where we had recorded £0.85 a call. Moneypenny's AI Receptionist page says "Get started from £25 a month", and it still publishes no price for its human answering service. Two providers that were not in the July edition, Sayora and Ringmere, are now in it, and three of the July prices had changed enough to rewrite their sections. Where a provider publishes no price, we say so rather than guess. On 25 September 2026 we corrected Ringmere's calendars: its integrations page, checked 24 September 2026, names Outlook / Microsoft 365 as well as Google Calendar.

The short answer: if your diary is your income, pick a product that books during the call: Vocalenda at £49 a month on the founding rate (£69 standard), Sayora at £49 for unlimited minutes on Google Calendar, or Ringmere from £49 plus VAT if you also want a live transfer. IONOS says it books during the call too, from £69 plus VAT with a per-call meter. If you just need messages taken, Team-Connect starts at £19.99 and IONOS at £39 plus VAT.

Now, the market. "AI receptionist" has become one of the most crowded phrases in UK small-business software, and it covers wildly different things. Some products answer your phone and book real appointments into your calendar. Some take a message and email it to you. Some are a thin AI layer on top of a human answering service. They all call themselves AI receptionists, and their prices range from £10 a month to well over £100.

This guide compares nine of them, ranked by what each is actually best at, because "best" depends entirely on what your business needs the phone to do.

The one question that sorts the whole market

Before any feature list, ask this about every provider you consider:

When the call ends, is the job done, or has it been written down for you to do later?

Most AI answering products are message takers. They pick up politely, capture the caller's name and number and what they wanted, and send it to you. That's real value if you're a builder on a roof, but if you run an appointment business, a salon, a clinic, a driving school, the message is not the job. The booking is the job. A caller who wanted Thursday at 2pm and got "someone will call you back" is a caller who may well book somewhere else before someone does.

A smaller group of products connect to your actual calendar, offer real availability, and finish the booking while the caller is on the line. In July that group was small. In September it has grown: Sayora books into Google Calendar and Ringmere into Google Calendar or Outlook during the call, and IONOS says its two upper tiers do the same. That's the difference worth paying attention to, and it's the main axis this comparison is built on.

The nine, at a glance

ProviderBest forPrice (checked 21 September 2026)Books into your diary on the call?
VocalendaAppointment-led small businesses£49/month flat on the founding rate (standard £69)Yes, Google Calendar or Outlook, live availability
SayoraTrades on Google Calendar who never want a meter£49/month early access, unlimited minutesYes, Google Calendar or Cal.com
RingmereBooking plus a live transfer to your team£49 to £249/month + VATYes, Google Calendar or Outlook, live availability
ARROWTrades wanting managed setupFrom £99/month, 150 minutesSays it books jobs into the diary; no calendar system named, and its salons page says you confirm the booking yourself
MoneypennyFirms needing human backupAI Receptionist from £25/month, allowance not stated (checked 21 September 2026); human answering service on enquiryMessage-and-transfer focus, human fallback
IONOSBudget all-rounder£39 to £99/month + VATOn the £69 and £99 tiers: Google Calendar, Outlook, Cal.com or Calendly
BookedSolidHealthcare clinics£49/month for one practitioner, £99 for two to four, + VATYes, into clinical practice systems
Team-ConnectA low-cost way inAI answering from £19.99/month, 30 AI minutes (the £9.99 plan is a landline with no AI)Says it books into Google Calendar or Microsoft 365/Outlook; the plan table does not say on which plans
The VoIP ShopCRM and phone-system depth£10 to £120/month + metered fees (per minute on its main table, per call on two others)Booking flows into CRMs and dental systems

Prices are what each provider published on its own site on 21 September 2026, rounded and simplified; always check their current pages. Now the detail.

1. Vocalenda: best for appointment-led small businesses

£49/month on the founding rate, £69 standard · 30-day free trial · cancel anytime

Ours, so judge this section accordingly. Vocalenda exists to do one thing completely: answer the phone for businesses that live by an appointment book, and put the appointment in the book. It connects to the Google or Outlook calendar you already run your day from, checks live availability before offering times, books, moves and cancels appointments during the call, and texts the caller a confirmation and a reminder the day before. Up to five staff members each connect their own calendar, so "can I have Danny on Saturday?" works, and two callers wanting the same slot with different staff both get booked.

It answers 24/7 in a natural voice, remembers regulars' preferences between calls, takes a proper message when a question is beyond it, and puts a caller who asks for a person through to the number you set. Pricing is one flat plan: £49 a month on the founding rate for the first ten businesses, £69 standard after that, with everything included and no per-minute meter, and a fair-use allowance of 500 minutes, roughly 250 bookings' worth.

That diary above is the product doing its job on our own test line: every entry was booked, moved or cancelled by the receptionist on a phone call, no human at the desk.

Where we're honest about the trade-offs: we're new, and we say so on our own homepage rather than inventing testimonials. Calendar support covers Google Calendar and Outlook / Microsoft 365, with two-way sync on either, so if your business runs on a proprietary booking platform instead, we're not your answer yet. When the 500 minutes run out, the line pauses until the month resets or you buy a £59 top-up for another 500 minutes, while the unlimited products below keep answering. And there's no human-receptionist fallback, it's AI or your own phone. If those aren't blockers, we think the price-to-finished-bookings ratio here is the best on this list, which is exactly what you'd expect us to think, so hear it answer a real call and judge with your ears.

Fit: salons, barbers, driving instructors, dentists, plumbers and heating engineers, dog groomers, any small business whose diary is its income.

2. Sayora: best for trades on Google Calendar who never want a meter

£49/month, unlimited minutes · UK number included · 7-day free trial

Sayora is an Edinburgh company, new to this guide, and it is the strongest headline in the table: £49 a month for everything it does, with unlimited minutes, a dedicated UK number, 24/7 cover, lead summaries by text or email, spam screening, calendar booking, recordings and transcripts, no setup fee and no contract. Its pricing page calls that an early-access price, "the price while we onboard our first customers", which early customers keep as the company grows, and unlimited carries a fair-use line. It runs separate pages for plumbers, electricians, heating engineers and builders, and on booking its own words are that it "checks your connected calendar and books an available slot".

Two things to check against your own setup. The calendar list is Google Calendar and Cal.com, with "more calendars on the way", so an Outlook diary is not there yet. And its own page says it "currently handles inbound calls and does not offer live call transfer": a customer who wants you, now, gets their details taken instead.

Fit: plumbers, electricians and heating engineers on Google Calendar who take a lot of long calls and would rather never see a minutes meter. Sayora, Ringmere and ours are compared head to head in our plumbers guide.

3. Ringmere: best for booking plus a live transfer to your team

£49 Starter, £99 Growth, £249 Pro, all + VAT · 14-day free trial

Ringmere is a London company and the closest thing to Vocalenda in this list. It books into Google Calendar or Outlook / Microsoft 365 and, in its own words, "checks live availability, so it will not book a slot that is already taken", and it routes sensitive, urgent or unhappy callers "straight to your team, with full context", which is the transfer Sayora does not do. Starter is £49 a month with 150 call minutes and a free UK local number, then £0.25 a minute; Growth is £99 with 240 minutes across calls and chat, SMS appointment reminders, multi-staff scheduling and WhatsApp; Pro is £249 with 700 minutes, then £0.20 a minute. Prices exclude VAT, added at checkout. It has pages for plumbers and heating engineers and for garages and MOT centres.

The thing to model is the meter: 150 minutes is about 75 two-minute calls, and the reminders and the multi-staff diary live on the £99 plan, so read it as £49 to try and £99 to run with texts.

Fit: small businesses on Google Calendar that want the booking finished and a person reachable, with call volume that fits the minutes.

4. ARROW: best for trades that want it done for them

From £99/month including 150 minutes · managed setup, live in seven days

ARROW (aiphonecalls.co.uk) has built something focused: an AI receptionist aimed squarely at UK trades, with the setup done for you rather than by you. It answers 24/7, captures and qualifies leads, and notifies you by SMS and email, and its site backs the pitch with named case studies.

The managed onboarding is the real differentiator. If the idea of configuring anything yourself is the reason you haven't sorted your phones, ARROW removing that step is worth money. Two things to weigh. It costs roughly twice what the self-serve products charge: £99 includes 150 minutes, and past that its pricing page says only that "pricing follows your usage", with no overage rate published. And read its pages on booking carefully, because on 21 September 2026 they said more than one thing. Its industries page says it "books the job straight into the diary" for cleaning companies and "books the visit" for electricians, and an FAQ answer on its virtual receptionist page says "AI receptionists like ARROW can book directly into your calendar". But the £99 feature list names answering, lead capture, qualification, notifications and analytics, no calendar system is named anywhere we could find, and its salons page answers "Does it actually book appointments?" by saying it captures the details and "You then confirm it at your end". So if the diary is the job, ask which calendar it writes to, and on which plan, before you buy.

Fit: trades and field-service businesses that want a phone problem to disappear without touching a dashboard.

5. Moneypenny: best when you need a human safety net

AI Receptionist from £25 a month, allowance not stated · human answering service on enquiry

Moneypenny is the UK's best-known telephone answering company, and says its AI Receptionist is trained on over 180 million real business calls. The proposition is different from everyone else here: AI answering with seamless handover to Moneypenny's human receptionists when a call needs a person.

For regulated and relationship-heavy sectors, law firms, accountancies, financial services, that human fallback is not a nice-to-have, it's the point. No pure-AI product on this list can promise a caller a human. The trade-offs: it's a message-and-transfer service at heart rather than a diary-filling booking engine, and the price on the page is a starting point rather than a plan. Checked on 21 September 2026, its AI Receptionist page says "Get started from £25 a month", with no minutes, call allowance or VAT position stated and nothing on whether the human handover is included at that price, and the same page's FAQ says pricing is "built around what you need" and that the best next step is to talk to them. Its human answering service publishes no price at all; you get a quote. Third-party sites circulate figures for it; none of them are Moneypenny's, so we print none.

Fit: professional-services firms where a mishandled call costs more than a receptionist does.

6. IONOS: best budget all-rounder from a big name

£39 to £99/month + VAT · 1-month free trial

IONOS, the web-hosting giant, sells a tidy AI receptionist in three tiers: £39/month with 30 calls included (then £0.49 a call), £69 with 100 calls (then £0.39 a call), and £99 with unlimited calls. It answers 24/7, handles several callers at once and sends a summary after each call; the £69 and £99 tiers add appointment scheduling with calendar integration. IONOS says you can link Google Calendar, Outlook, Cal.com or Calendly, and that it "suggests available slots and books them directly during the call". The £99 tier also adds a website widget and advanced API integration.

The strengths are the brand's scale, a genuinely low entry price, and a longer calendar list than most products here, ours included: we connect Google Calendar and Outlook only. The things to check before buying: appointment scheduling is listed on the £69 and £99 tiers, not the £39 one; the per-call metering means a busy month costs more than the headline; and prices exclude VAT at 20%, so compare like-for-like.

Fit: small businesses that want calls answered and summarised from £39 plus VAT, or booked during the call from £69 plus VAT, from a big name.

7. BookedSolid: best for healthcare clinics

£49/month for one practitioner, £99 for two to four, + VAT · unlimited calls · 7-day free trial · no contracts

BookedSolid (now at bookedsolid.health) does for clinics what Vocalenda does for salons: it finishes the booking. It's built specifically for healthcare, integrating directly with practice-management systems including Cliniko, Coreplus, Nookal, PracticeHub, PracSuite, Splose, Semble and ClinicOffice, booking, rescheduling and cancelling appointments in real time, live in under 48 hours, with no setup fee and no contracts.

The pricing goes by practitioner count, in steps rather than a straight multiple. The slider on its pricing page, checked 21 September 2026, shows £49 a month for a single practitioner, £99 for two to four, £109 for five and £119 for six, rising to £363 for twenty, with custom pricing above that, all ex VAT, with unlimited calls and messages. The page opens on the four-practitioner price, so move the slider to your own headcount. If you run a physio, osteo, podiatry or similar practice on one of those systems, this depth of integration is exactly what you want and generalist products can't match it. Outside healthcare, or off those platforms, it isn't aimed at you.

Fit: UK clinics running on a supported practice-management system.

8. Team-Connect: the low-cost way to stop missing calls

AI answering from £19.99/month · 30 AI minutes · 30-day money-back guarantee on its Starter and Lite plan pages

Team-Connect's headline is low: its home page says "AI Receptionist for Business • From £9.99/month", with no contract, and its AI receptionist page makes a point of saying it is trained on regional UK accents. It takes messages, routes urgent callers to your mobile, and says it can book appointments into your existing calendar: its appointment booking page says Google Calendar and Microsoft 365/Outlook are "fully supported with two-way sync", with Apple calendars through connectors, though its plan table does not say which plans include booking. The plans with AI answering are Lite at £19.99 with 30 AI minutes, 250 incoming minutes and two UK numbers, Business Pro at £79.99 with 250 AI minutes, and Enterprise at £199.99 with 750. Its AI receptionist page puts annual billing at £14.99 a month, and top-ups start at £34.99 per 150 AI minutes.

One thing to be straight about: the £9.99 plan is real, but it is not an AI receptionist. Checked 21 September 2026, Starter is one UK number, 50 incoming minutes and call divert to your mobile, and its own page says "AI answering, custom AI training, premium voices and CRM integrations are not on the Starter plan", pointing you to Lite from £19.99 for that. So the cheapest plan that answers the phone for you is £19.99, and 30 AI minutes a month is a small allowance: about 15 two-minute calls before a top-up. But as a first step out of voicemail for a very small business, the value is real.

Fit: sole traders and very small businesses who want calls answered professionally for pocket money.

9. The VoIP Shop: best for phone-system and CRM depth

£10 to £120/month plus metered fees: per minute on its main table, per call on two others

The VoIP Shop comes at this from UK business telephony, and it shows: the AI receptionist plugs into proper call-flow design, routes to departments, prioritises emergencies, and integrates with CRMs like Salesforce, HubSpot and Zoho. Its dental page names Dentally, Aerona and Pearl. Implementation is a designed process of about 24 to 48 hours rather than instant self-serve.

The pricing shape is the thing to model carefully. Checked 21 September 2026, the main table on its AI receptionist, AI answering service and AI voice agent pages reads: Standard is £10 a month plus £0.85 a minute. Premium is £30 with 150 minutes, described as approximately 50 calls, then £0.65 a minute. Ultimate is £120 with 600 minutes, approximately 200 calls, then £0.50 a minute. On 15 September the Standard fee was £0.85 a call, and per-call prices are still on its site: a second table lower on the AI receptionist page, and the one on its dental page, show £0.85 per call on every tier, with 50 and 200 calls included rather than minutes. Ask which applies before you sign. Either way, a business taking 200 calls a month is really comparing £120-plus against the flat-rate products.

Fit: businesses with existing VoIP/CRM infrastructure that want the AI wired into it properly.

What an AI receptionist should cost in 2026

Across the UK market, on the pages checked in September, the real spread looks like this:

  • £10 to £30/month: entry tiers with small minute or call allowances, with per-minute or per-call fees or paid top-ups on top. Fine for low call volume; check what a busy month costs. Team-Connect's £9.99 plan sits just under this band, but it is a landline with no AI answering. Moneypenny's "from £25 a month" AI Receptionist headline sits here too, but its page states no allowance and points you to a quote.
  • £39 to £69/month: the sweet spot. Full-featured products for a single business live here: ours at £49 on the founding rate and Sayora at £49, both flat-rate; Ringmere's Starter at £49 plus VAT and IONOS at £39 to £69 plus VAT, both metered beyond an allowance; and BookedSolid at £49 plus VAT for a single-practitioner clinic.
  • £99 and up: managed setup (ARROW), unlimited tiers (IONOS at £99), clinics with two or more practitioners (BookedSolid), Ringmere's fuller plans, or heavy call volumes. Hybrid human services such as Moneypenny's answering service are priced on enquiry, so they sit outside these bands.

Two pricing traps to read for: per-call and per-minute meters, which turn a good month of business into a surprise bill, and per-practitioner or per-seat pricing, which is fair but needs working out for your own headcount before you compare. A third, new this year: early-access and founding prices, Sayora's and ours included, which are real but only open for a window, so check what the standard price is before you assume the headline is forever. A flat monthly price with a fair-use cap is the easiest to budget and, at typical small-business volumes, usually the cheapest of the full-featured products.

The short version

  • Your diary is your income (salon, barber, instructor, clinic, dog groomer): Vocalenda, £49/month on the founding rate, books straight into Google Calendar or Outlook. Try the 30-day free trial and test it with your own phone.
  • You're a trade on Google Calendar and want unlimited minutes: Sayora, £49/month, no live transfer.
  • You want the booking finished and a live transfer to your team: Ringmere, £49 to £249/month plus VAT.
  • You're a trade and want it handled for you: ARROW, from £99/month.
  • You need humans behind the AI: Moneypenny.
  • You want a person on every call, not AI: see the UK virtual receptionist services we compare separately.
  • You want cheap and simple: Team-Connect from £19.99, or IONOS from £39 plus VAT.
  • You run a clinic on Cliniko or similar: BookedSolid, £49/month plus VAT for one practitioner, £99 for two to four.
  • You want it wired into your CRM and phone system: The VoIP Shop.

Whichever way you go, do the one test that cuts through every marketing page including ours: ring the demo line, ask for an appointment, and see whether you end the call booked or waiting for a callback. That's the whole product, in one phone call. For the deeper reads, our cost guide, the virtual receptionist vs AI receptionist explainer, the Moneypenny alternatives list and the GDPR explainer sit alongside this one.

Common questions

Do callers know they are talking to an AI?

The current generation of voices is natural enough that many callers do not ask. The good products do not pretend to be human when asked directly, and UK GDPR expects callers to be told; Vocalenda says so in one sentence before the greeting. What callers consistently care about more is being answered immediately and getting what they rang for.

Can I keep my existing number?

In the normal way, yes: you forward your existing number to the provider's, the same divert you would set for any answering service, and these products are designed around that. Several also include a new UK number if you would rather hand one out: Sayora, Ringmere, Team-Connect and Vocalenda publish that on their pricing pages. Your number stays yours.

What happens when the AI cannot answer something?

The decent products all do the same sensible thing: admit it, take a message or the question, and pass it to you by email, dashboard or text depending on the provider. Some can hand the live call to a person: Moneypenny especially, Ringmere for sensitive, urgent or unhappy callers, and Vocalenda to the number you set. Sayora says on its own page that it does not currently offer live transfer.

Is an AI receptionist GDPR compliant?

The UK providers here all operate under UK GDPR, but implementations differ. Ask each provider where call audio and transcripts are processed and stored, how long they are kept, and whether audio is used to train anyone's models. A provider that answers those three questions plainly in its privacy policy is telling you something good about itself. Our separate GDPR explainer covers what callers must be told.

How long does setup take?

Self-serve products such as Vocalenda, Sayora, Ringmere, IONOS and Team-Connect take minutes to an afternoon. BookedSolid, which you also set up yourself, says live in under 48 hours. Managed ones are slower to start: The VoIP Shop describes a designed 24 to 48 hour implementation, and ARROW's pricing page says live in seven days.

How much does an AI receptionist cost in the UK in 2026?

On the providers' own pages, checked 21 September 2026, entry plans run from £10 a month plus £0.85 a minute on The VoIP Shop's main price table, where a second table and its dental page still say £0.85 a call, and £19.99 at Team-Connect for its first plan with AI answering, through a £39 to £69 band where most single-business products sit, including Sayora at £49, Ringmere at £49 plus VAT and Vocalenda at £49 on its founding rate, to £99 and up for managed setup, unlimited tiers and clinics with two or more practitioners. Moneypenny publishes no price for its human answering service; its AI Receptionist page, checked the same day, says from £25 a month and states no minutes or call allowance.

Tags
AI ReceptionistUK BusinessComparisonCall AnsweringAppointment BookingBuying Guide

Want more guides like this in your Google results? Add Vocalenda as a preferred source.

Add Vocalenda on Google

Ready to stop missing bookings?

Vocalenda answers your phone 24/7 and books straight into your Google or Outlook calendar. £49 a month on the founding rate, the first 30 days free, cancel anytime, no contract. Or hear it first: call the demo line on 07888 866273.

Start your free trial