The disclosure first, because it shapes everything after it: we make one of the products below. Vocalenda is ours. Read this the way you would read any vendor's comparison. Every price and every claim here comes from the provider's own published UK pages, first fetched on 21 September 2026 and fetched again on 24 September 2026, and where a page does not say something we say "not stated" rather than guess.
The short answer: a UK salon answering service with a flat price costs from about £56 to £150 a month for people who answer in your salon's name, and AI runs from £30 to £275 a month. Price matters less than whether whoever answers can see your appointment book. If yours is Google Calendar or Outlook, Vocalenda books into it for £49 a month on the founding rate, £69 standard, with 500 minutes.
The foils-in, phone-ringing problem
You are halfway through a full head of foils, gloves on, and the desk phone goes. You cannot stop. Your junior is shampooing. The caller wants Saturday, and by the time anyone is free to ring back she has booked the salon down the road. When YouGov polled UK adults for Answer4u in June 2026, 37% said they would give up on an unanswered call within 60 seconds and ring a competitor instead.
The calls also come when you are shut. Salon software company Phorest has put the share of appointments booked outside business hours at 30%, which we looked at in our post on after-hours salon bookings.
So salons pay someone, or something, to answer. There are three kinds of answer on sale, and they are not the same product:
- A message. A person or a machine takes the client's name and number and sends it to you. You ring back and book.
- A person in your book. A receptionist at an answering service logs into your booking system and puts the client in, during the hours that service is open.
- Software in your book. An AI receptionist checks your live availability and books the appointment during the call, at any hour.
The question that decides it: can whoever answers see your book?
Everything else in this post hangs off that. A beautifully answered call that ends in "someone will ring you back" is still a call-back, and the client is still free to try the next salon. A call that ends with "you're in with Maya, Saturday at 10:30, I've just texted you the details" is finished.
Whether the answerer can see your book depends on where your book lives. Here is the honest map, from the vendors' own pages.
| Your appointment book lives in | Who can write into it | Our honest advice |
|---|---|---|
| Treatwell | Treatwell's own AI Receptionist. Treatwell's pricing page says "we do not sync with any other existing management systems" | Try Treatwell's product first: it is the only AI receptionist here that books into Treatwell. A human service could log into your Treatwell account, but none here names Treatwell, so ask |
| Fresha | Fresha's own AI Concierge; Ansacom names Fresha among the platforms it works with | Compare Fresha's add-on first. We wrote it up in Fresha AI Concierge vs Vocalenda |
| Timely | Ansacom names Timely; Timely also offers "a two-way sync with Google Calendar", so a product that books into Google can hold the time in Timely as a greyed-out busy slot | Vocalenda can work here through Google Calendar. Timely's pricing page does not say which plans include the sync, and we have not tested it ourselves: ask Timely, then try it on one stylist's calendar first |
| Phorest | Ansacom names Phorest. We found no Google Calendar sync in Phorest's help centre or integrations page | A human service that logs into Phorest fits. We do not |
| Booksy | Booksy's help centre describes a one-off calendar import by file, not a live sync | A human service that will log into Booksy (ask; none here names it), or Booksy's own online booking. We do not fit |
| Google Calendar, Outlook, or paper you would happily swap for one | Vocalenda and Cyberstaff book into Google Calendar or Outlook; Posh's integrations page and CallsHero's salon page name Google Calendar | This is who Vocalenda is built for |
If that table sends you to somebody else's product, good. It is cheaper to find that out here than in month two.
The ten, at a glance
Prices are each provider's published UK pricing, checked 24 September 2026. One warning before the table: it is not like for like. Virtual Salon Services charges by the call, Posh by the minute, Cyberstaff, Fresha, CallsHero and Vocalenda include a block of minutes, and Salons Connect, Treatwell and Your Office and PA state no allowance at all. Ansacom publishes no price. Posh, Fresha and CallsHero quote prices before VAT; the others do not state VAT on the pages we checked (Treatwell says VAT applies to its commissions and fees, on a different page from the AI Receptionist), and Vocalenda adds no VAT at checkout.
| Type | From | Answers | With a booking call | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Virtual Salon Services | People, built for salons | £13 a week, by the call, no contract | Hours not stated | Says it books clients in and sends messages by text and email; no salon system named |
| Your Office and PA | People | £63.50 a month with diary management (pay as you go from £32.50) | Mon to Fri 8:30am to 7pm, Sat 9am to 2pm | Books "using your preferred system, where available" |
| Salons Connect | People, built for the beauty industry | £100 a month, or £150 with deposits, WhatsApp and "Integrated AI" | 7am to midnight, six days | Into your current system, or its own calendar |
| Posh | People | £50 a month plus £1.50 a minute, plus VAT | 24/7 | Appointment scheduling; names Google Calendar, Calendly, Acuity and Setmore, no salon system |
| Ansacom | People | No price published | "24/7 if needed" | Names Fresha, Timely and Phorest |
| Cyberstaff | AI | £30 a month, 100 minutes, then £0.30 a minute | 24/7 | Google Calendar or Outlook |
| Treatwell AI Receptionist | AI, Treatwell salons only | From £69 a month | "Day or night" | Into your Treatwell calendar, confirmed by text |
| Fresha AI Concierge | AI, Fresha salons only | £79.95 plus VAT per location, 200 minutes, then £0.48 a minute | 24/7 | Into your Fresha calendar |
| CallsHero | AI | £275 plus VAT a month, 250 minutes (pay as you go £1.20 a minute) | 24/7 | Shows a Google Calendar integration; no salon system named |
| Vocalenda | AI | £49 founding rate (standard £69), 500 minutes, no per-minute charge, then the line pauses | 24/7 | Into Google Calendar or Outlook during the call, confirmed by text |
Two well-known names are missing from the table because neither has a UK page for salons. Face for Business publishes plans from £49 a month and answers Monday to Friday 8am to 8pm, Saturday 9am to 5:30pm and Sunday 10am to 4pm. Moneypenny publishes no price for its human service; its AI Receptionist page says "Get started from £25 a month". We covered Moneypenny in Moneypenny alternatives.
How much does a salon answering service cost in the UK?
Every price below is from the provider's own page, checked 24 September 2026. The headline numbers hide very different meters, so here is each one in full.
Virtual Salon Services is the cheapest human option: "as little as £13 per week, with no contract and no set-up costs", which is about £56 a month. It charges "by the call", not the minute, and gives you "your own dedicated team of two to three virtual receptionists, whose names you will know", who answer "within three rings in your company name" and "send you any messages immediately by text and email". Its homepage says it answers "booking in clients, answering queries, and taking messages for you where needed", and its service list includes diary management. It names no salon booking system, so ask which diary it would write into. Hours are not stated on the pages we checked.
Your Office and PA has two accounts. Pay as you go starts from £32.50, billed as top-up credit; its price table lists the caller's name, number and message and no diary management, though its diary management page says that service comes on pay as you go too, so ask. The monthly account is £63.50 a month on a 30-day rolling contract and adds call transfers, diary management and order taking, with a 14-day free trial on both. Its page for appointment businesses names hair and beauty salons and says it books "using your preferred system, where available". The limit is the clock: Monday to Friday 8:30am to 7pm, Saturday 9am to 2pm, closed Sunday, and its FAQ says calls outside those hours go to voicemail.
Salons Connect is built for the beauty industry and answers from 7am to midnight: "Call answering between 07:00 - Midnight", six days a week. It sells two packages. Simply Connected, £100 a month, ticks full call answering, "Integrate with your current system", a new calendar, those hours, call forwarding and showing your current number. Super Connected, £150, ticks all of that plus seven lines Simply Connected marks with a dash: "Integrated AI", instant call summaries, voicemail transcripts, "Cancellation chasing", "Deposit taking", "Whatsapp answering" and a new landline. Its site offers a free month.
Posh answers 24/7 with UK receptionists, has a page for salons and spas, and bills by the minute. Its price table, stamped "Effective 1/4/26", has Chïc at £50 a month with no minutes included and £1.50 a minute after that, up through Vogue at £74 with 50 minutes and Elegant at £128 with 100 minutes, all before VAT. The FAQ on the same page describes Chïc as "a base rate of £44.00 per month" plus £1.31 a minute, so confirm which figures apply before you sign. On the table's numbers, a salon taking 50 two-minute calls a month pays at least £128 plus VAT on Elegant, £153.60; Posh counts a receptionist minute as time on the phone or time "completing an activity for your account", so treat that as the floor. Its integrations page names Google Calendar, Calendly, Acuity and Setmore for appointment scheduling, and no salon software.
Ansacom publishes no price, only a callback form and a free 7-day trial. It earns its place because it is the one human service here that names salon software: "We work with popular salon platforms like Fresha, Timely, and Phorest to manage your diary accurately and efficiently." It also says it "can send appointment confirmations and reminders".
Cyberstaff is a UK AI receptionist from £30 a month for 100 minutes, then £0.30 a minute, with £75 and £120 plans above it, a 7-day trial with no card and no contract. It books into Google Calendar or Outlook. Its beauty industry page is written for aesthetic clinics, though its case studies include a hair studio in Luton. We compared it with Vocalenda in detail in our driving schools guide.
Treatwell's AI Receptionist is "From £69 a month". It "has access to your Treatwell menu, staff and opening hours", "checks real-time availability, suggests alternative times or stylists" and "confirms via text". Anything unusual, "a complaint, a complex request, a VIP client", is "flagged and routed to your team, with the full transcript". You request a demo; no trial or contract terms are stated on its page.
Fresha's AI Concierge is £79.95 per location a month, with "200 mins included per location, then £0.48 per extra min" and 500 messages, and Fresha states its rates "are exclusive of 20.0% sales tax". It is "an optional add-on to your Fresha Business account", whose own subscription starts at £14.95 a month for an independent, so the pair is £94.90 a month before VAT and £113.88 with it. A salon with more than one stylist is on Fresha's Team plan instead, £9.95 a month for each team member.
CallsHero has a hair and beauty page and the highest published price here: Starter is £275 a month for 250 minutes, or pay as you go at £1.20 a minute, before VAT. It lists SMS and email reminders, shows a Google Calendar integration and names no salon booking system.
Vocalenda (ours) is one plan: £49 a month on the founding rate for the first ten businesses, locked in for as long as they stay subscribed, and £69 standard after that. It includes 500 call minutes a month, around 250 bookings at a typical two-minute call, with a 500-minute top-up at £59 if you run out. Thirty-day free trial, with card details taken at checkout when the trial starts. Full detail on our pricing page.
People or software: which should answer a salon's phone?
A person is better at the calls that are not really about booking. The client whose colour has gone wrong. The bride's mother with eleven questions. The complaint. A good receptionist hears the tone of a voice and adjusts, and no software in this post does that as well. If a large share of your calls are like that, pay for people, and look hard at Salons Connect's hours and Ansacom's named platforms.
Plenty of salon calls are simpler than that: "have you got anything Saturday", "how much is a half head", "can I move my Thursday". For those, the things that matter are being open when the client rings, seeing the book, and finishing the job on the call. That is where software does well, for two plain reasons: it is awake at 9pm on a Sunday, and it can take two calls at once on a Saturday morning. Price is less clear cut. Cyberstaff, Fresha and CallsHero all meter by the minute past their allowance; ours has no meter, and our 500 minutes pause the line if you use them all. We set out the wider trade-off in virtual receptionist vs AI receptionist.
Vocalenda, honestly
Ours, so judge this section hardest. Vocalenda answers your salon's number and finishes the booking: it reads your real Google Calendar or Outlook, offers times you actually have free, writes the appointment in while the client is still on the line, and texts them a confirmation, then a reminder the day before; the evidence that reminder texts cut no-shows is in our post on reducing no-shows. When a client rings to move Thursday, it finds the booking, moves it and updates the diary, and only the number that made a booking can change it. It answers from what you wrote: your price list, how long a colour takes, whether a patch test is needed first, in its own words, and takes a message when a question is not covered. It recognises a regular's number, so they do not spell their name again and what they told it last time is on their card. A client who asks for a person is put through to the number you set. Each stylist connects their own calendar, up to five, and clients can ask for theirs by name.
Where that puts us ahead, on the published pages and nothing else:
- Open when the salon is shut. Your Office and PA closes at 7pm and all day Sunday; Salons Connect stops at midnight and works six days. We answer every hour of every day. So does Posh, and Ansacom says "24/7 if needed", so against those two the question is the price, not the hours, and Ansacom does not publish one.
- The booking is made during the call, into a calendar we name. Virtual Salon Services, Your Office and PA and Salons Connect say they book clients into your system without naming which; Ansacom names Fresha, Timely and Phorest, and Posh lists Google Calendar among its integrations. We say exactly where: your Google Calendar or Outlook, written in before the client hangs up, with a text to confirm it.
- One price, whatever the month looks like. Posh is £1.50 a minute on top of £50. Our 500 minutes are included, with no per-minute meter. Past 500 minutes our line pauses until your month resets, or you buy a 500-minute top-up for £59; Posh keeps answering and keeps charging. It comes down to whether you would rather have a known bill or a line that never stops.
- No platform to move to. Treatwell's and Fresha's receptionists only work inside their own platforms. We book into the Google Calendar or Outlook you already have.
- Five stylists, five calendars, one price. No per-seat charge.
- Thirty days to find out. Cyberstaff and Ansacom give 7 days, Your Office and PA 14, and Salons Connect matches us with a free month.
Now the trade-offs, because a comparison that hides its own product's limits is not one. We cannot write into Treatwell, Fresha, Phorest or Booksy. If your book lives there and you are staying, the table near the top of this post is the honest answer, and it mostly points elsewhere. A person handles an upset client better than we do; we take the message, or put the call through to you. The top-up is for paid plans only and lasts six months, and you will see the minutes running down on your dashboard. We do not take deposits on the call, which Salons Connect includes in its £150 package. We do not answer WhatsApp. And £49 is a founding rate for the first ten businesses; the standard price is £69, where Treatwell's page says "From £69 a month".
Pick Vocalenda if: your book is Google Calendar or Outlook, or Timely with its Google sync switched on and tested; you want the phone answered at 9pm and on Sundays; and you want the client booked and texted before they hang up, with no list to ring back. There is a fuller picture of it working a salon's day on our salons page.
Here is a cut and colour booked with the stylist the client asked for, patch test question included:
Sample call
A cut and colour booking at a hair salon
Thalia · Briarlow Hair Studio
1:06
A sample call with a made-up business. The receptionist's voice is the one real callers hear.
Read the transcript
- Receptionist: Just so you know, you're speaking with an AI assistant, and this call is transcribed. Thank you for calling Briarlow Hair Studio, how can I help you today?
- Caller: Hi, I'd like to book a cut and colour with Megan, please. Thursday morning, if she's got anything.
- Receptionist: Of course. Let me check Megan's Thursday.
- Receptionist: Thursday the 22nd, Megan has nine thirty AM or eleven AM.
- Caller: Eleven would be perfect. It's Emma, by the way.
- Receptionist: Thanks, Emma. Have you had a colour patch test with us in the last six months?
- Caller: Yes, I had one back in August.
- Receptionist: Lovely. So that's a cut and colour for Emma with Megan on Thursday the 22nd at eleven AM, and you've had a patch test with us in the last six months. Shall I book it?
- Caller: Yes, please.
- Receptionist: Great, let me book that in.
- Receptionist: You're booked in. You'll get a confirmation text shortly, and a reminder the day before. Anything else I can help with?
- Caller: No, that's everything. Thank you, bye.
- Receptionist: Thanks for calling Briarlow Hair Studio, have a great day!
Questions to ask before you sign anything
Ask every provider the same five, and write the answers down:
- What hours do you actually answer? Saturday at 6pm and Sunday morning are the test.
- Can you see my book and put the client in it? If yes, into which system, and who pays for the login.
- What does a busy month cost? Take your December call count, add the per-minute or per-call charge, then add VAT.
- What does the client receive? A text confirming the booking, and a reminder the day before, or nothing.
- What happens to a call you cannot handle? A transfer to the salon, a message, or a dead end.
Whoever answers your phone also handles your clients' names and numbers, so ask where call recordings are kept and for how long. Our GDPR explainer covers what a provider owes you.
Try one before you decide
Nearly everything here can be tried before you pay: the trial lengths are in the list above, and Virtual Salon Services and Posh also offer a free trial without giving its length on the pages we checked. Forward your salon's line for a week and count what is waiting at close: a list of numbers, or a column of bookings.
Before you start a trial of any receptionist software, ring its demo line and book a test appointment the way your clients would: ask the price of a half head, ask for a stylist by name, book, then ring back and move it. Ours is +44 7888 866273. The demo diary belongs to a barbershop, but the booking flow and the confirmation text work the same way for your clients. If you would rather read one first, we wrote up a real call, beat by beat.
Ours is thirty days of the full product, and setup is short: connect your calendar, add your services and prices, point your number at it, all covered in our setup guide. Start the 30-day free trial. If it has not booked you more appointments than it costs by day thirty, don't keep it.
The short version
A salon answering service in the UK costs from about £56 a month for a small team built for salons, to £100 or £150 for a salon specialist that answers until midnight, to £50 a month plus £1.50 a minute for round-the-clock people. Software starts at £30. The price is the second question. The first is whether whoever answers can see your book. On Treatwell or Fresha, start with their own receptionist. On Phorest, a human service that logs in. On Google Calendar or Outlook, or Timely with its Google sync once you have tested it, Vocalenda answers every hour of every day, books the client during the call, texts them twice, and costs £49 a month on the founding rate, £69 standard, with 500 minutes and up to five stylists included.
For the wider market, our guide Best AI Receptionist UK and the cost of an AI receptionist in the UK go deeper. We ran the same exercise for dentists in Dental Answering Service UK, and if your diary is Outlook, how an AI receptionist works with Outlook covers the setup.
Common questions
How much does a salon answering service cost in the UK?
On the providers' own pages, checked 24 September 2026, human services aimed at salons run from £13 a week at Virtual Salon Services, which is about £56 a month and charged by the call, through £63.50 a month at Your Office and PA for an account that manages your diary, to £100 or £150 a month at Salons Connect. Posh charges £50 a month plus £1.50 for every minute, before VAT. Ansacom and Moneypenny publish no price for a human service. AI products run from £30 a month at Cyberstaff for 100 minutes, £49 a month at Vocalenda on the founding rate for the first ten businesses, £69 standard, with 500 minutes, from £69 at Treatwell, £79.95 plus VAT per location at Fresha, and £275 plus VAT at CallsHero.
Can a salon answering service book appointments into my salon software?
Some can, and it depends on the software. Ansacom says it works with Fresha, Timely and Phorest. Salons Connect says it connects to your current booking system or sets you up on its own calendar. Your Office and PA says it books using your preferred system where available. Treatwell's AI Receptionist books only into the Treatwell calendar and Fresha's AI Concierge only into the Fresha calendar. Vocalenda books into Google Calendar or Outlook. Timely's own pages describe a two-way Google Calendar sync, switched on for each staff member, so a Google booking can hold the time in a Timely diary as a blocked busy slot; Timely's pricing page does not say which plans include it, and we have not tested that path ourselves, so ask Timely and try it on one stylist first. A service that only takes messages cannot book anything: you ring the client back.
Is a salon answering service open in the evenings and at weekends?
It varies more than the adverts suggest. On their own pages, Your Office and PA answers Monday to Friday 8:30am to 7pm and Saturday 9am to 2pm, closed Sunday. Face for Business answers Monday to Friday 8am to 8pm, Saturday 9am to 5:30pm and Sunday 10am to 4pm. Salons Connect answers 7am to midnight, six days a week. Posh says its receptionists are available 24/7, and Ansacom says 24/7 if needed. The AI products, including Treatwell, Fresha, Cyberstaff, CallsHero and Vocalenda, answer around the clock.
Do I need to be on Treatwell or Fresha to use their AI receptionist?
Yes. Treatwell's AI Receptionist, from £69 a month, reads your Treatwell menu, staff and opening hours and books directly into your Treatwell calendar, and Treatwell says it does not sync with any other management system. Fresha's AI Concierge, £79.95 plus VAT per location a month with 200 minutes included, is an optional add-on to a Fresha Business account and books into the Fresha calendar. If your book already lives on one of those platforms, their own product is the natural first thing to try.
What is the difference between a salon answering service and an AI receptionist?
A salon answering service is a team of people who answer in your salon's name during their opening hours, and either take a message or book into your system. An AI receptionist is software that answers every call at any hour, and the good ones book the appointment during the call. People are better with an upset client or an unusual request. Software never closes and answers two calls at once, and the cheapest software here costs less than the cheapest human service, though the dearest, CallsHero at £275 plus VAT, does not. Vocalenda is an AI receptionist: £49 a month on the founding rate for the first ten businesses, £69 standard, with 500 call minutes, booking into Google Calendar or Outlook, and a line that pauses if the 500 minutes run out.
What is the cheapest salon answering service in the UK?
On published prices checked 24 September 2026, the cheapest human service aimed at salons is Virtual Salon Services at £13 a week, about £56 a month, charged by the call with no contract. The cheapest AI product is Cyberstaff at £30 a month for 100 minutes, then £0.30 a minute. Vocalenda is £49 a month on the founding rate for the first ten businesses, £69 standard, with 500 minutes included and no per-minute charge, and the line pauses if those run out. The cheapest headline is rarely the cheapest month: add the per-call or per-minute charge for your busiest month, then VAT, before you compare.
Want more guides like this in your Google results? Add Vocalenda as a preferred source.
Add Vocalenda on Google